Feds OK farm loans for 85 Ohio counties

Farmers in 85 Ohio counties can receive aid due to severe weather crop losses.

Ohio farmers struggling with severe weather crop losses can now get a financial boost in 85 counties designated as "disaster areas" by the government.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture designated aid to counties in four separate disaster categories based on the February drought, frost and freezes during the spring, May flooding and the July 1 hailstorm.

View: Ohio counties designated as disaster areas

"The federal disaster declaration will make much-needed assistance from the government available to agricultural producers throughout our part of the state," Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (D-09) said. "Any farmer or producer with questions about the help that is available can contact my office."

Contact: Rep. Marcy Kaptur's office

According to the USDA, the disaster designation makes farm operators in both primary and contiguous counties eligible for assistance from the Farm Service Agency, provided all requirements are met. The assistance includes FSA emergency loans.

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. According to FSA, the agency will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, securityu available and repayment ability.

Contact your county office: