Michigan's new texting while driving ban begins
Thu, 01 Jul 2010 12:09:49 GMT —
LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Michigan motorists should have one less excuse for being distracted behind the wheel.
On Thursday, the state's ban on texting while driving takes effect. The law makes it illegal for a person to read, write or send text messages from a cell phone or other device while operating a moving vehicle.
A violation is a civil infraction with a $100 fine for a first offense and $200 after that.
The state doesn't add any points to a driver's record for violations.
Michigan has started a campaign using billboards, posters and a public service announcement to remind people of the new law.
(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)