Texting while driving could soon cost Ohio drivers a pretty penny and teens their licenses.
An Ohio Senate committee will reconsider a proposal to ban texting while driving on Wednesday.
The bill would make writing, reading and sending text messages while driving a misdemeanor with possible fines of $150. The bill is slated for revisions and a possible vote this afternoon.
The Columbus Dispatch reports some of these revisions include making texting while driving a secondary offense for drivers age 18 and older. In other words, the driver must be pulled over for a different traffic violation before they can be ticketed for texting.
But for drivers aged 16 and 17, texting would be a primary offense with a 60-day license suspension.
"No question it will make it a better bill if it is a complete ban up to age 18 for electronic devices," said Rep. Rex Damschroder, R-Fremont, to the Dispatch. "If you look at it from a rational standpoint, this makes a lot of sense."
Ohio's House approved the distracted driving measure June 28 in an 88-10 vote, but the Senate committee chairman warned that the panel would be "treading carefully" on the issue.
(The Associated Press contributed to this report)