Toledo police chief sworn in by Mayor Collins

Toledo Police Department has its new leader at ceremony Friday morning.

It's an era of new beginnings for the City of Toledo.

Toledo Police Department has a new leader after an official ceremony Friday morning.

Lt. William Moton was officially sworn in as Toledo police chief by Mayor D. Michael Collins.

Moton replaces Derrick Diggs, who announced his retirement in December. Diggs cited "irreconcilable differences in policing philosophy," for his departure from Collins' administration.

Mayor Collins and Lt. Moton are in the talks of visiting the Northwest District Police Station. This comes more than a year after former Mayor Mike Bell closed down the west Toledo police station. "We are going to reopen the Northwest District Station. I would like to move on that as rapidly as possible," Collins said.The measure to sell the building was not approved, opening up the possibility it could one day reopen.

Moton has more than 25 years of experience working for the Toledo Police Department in field operations, SWAT, and investigations. He has a master's degree in public administration from Bowling Green State University.

Two more men, Greg Kral and James O'Bryant, will also be promoted to the position of deputy chief during the meeting.

Kral became part of the police force in 1990, and eventually became a captain in 2011. Kral worked in field operations, investigations, and crime analysis. He also has a master's degree in criminal justice from Tiffin University.

O'Bryant became an officer in 1985 and was promoted to a captain in 2006. He also served in investigations, training, community services, and personnel. He has a bachelor's of arts from the University of Toledo.