Gerken commissioners' unanimous choice for president

Lucas County Commissioners (From right to left) Ben Konop, Tina Skeldon-Wozniak, and Pete Gerken

The president of the Lucas County Commissioners is staying put this year. Commissioners unanimously re-elected Democrat Pete Gerken as president for a second, one year term.

Fellow commissioners Ben Konop and Tina Skeldon-Wozniak, along with Gerken, hope this year to implement programs to get more county residents into college.

They also plan to require candidates for the new dog warden position to have a bachelor's degree and veterinary training.