43 / 30
      47 / 40
      52 / 33

      UT responds to blown call vs Syracuse

      University of Toledo athletic director Mike O'Brien made a formal request on Sunday for Syracuse's 33-30 overtime victory over the Rockets on Saturday to be vacated and given to UT because of a missed call on an extra point.

      "I requested of our Mid-American Conference commissioner, Jon Steinbrecher, that he contact the Big East Conference relative to yesterday's UT-Syracuse game, and ask that the win be vacated and awarded to the University of Toledo," said O'Brien, while addressing the media on Sunday.

      The extra point in question came after a go-ahead Syracuse touchdown with 2:07 left. Kicker Ross Krautman missed the kick to the left of the left upright but officials ruled it good and after a review they stood by that ruling. The score remained 30-27 and UT proceeded to march down the field and kick a game tying field goal as time expired. After the game, however, Big East coordinator of football officiating, Terry McAulay, issued this statement:

      "After studying the videos of the Syracuse extra point attempt at 2:07 of the fourth quarter, we have concluded that the ruling on the field that the kick passed between the uprights was incorrect, and that the replay official made an error in failing to reverse that ruling. In reviewing the video, we have determined that the angle from behind the kicking team shows conclusively that the ball passes outside the right upright.

      "Our review of the process determined that the replay official mistakenly focused his attention on the sideline angle, which proved to be distorted. We are confident that our officiating staff will learn from this situation in order to prevent a reoccurrence. "

      During the press conference on Sunday, coach Beckman read an e-mail that he sent to Chuck Sullivan, Big East director of communications, late last night. "This is an incorrect call, so what is getting done about it? Admitting is one thing, correcting it is another. I believe in the end of the regulation the score 30-29 is the right call."