WNWO continues tradition with USBC

WNWO's Tim McMahon presents the Junior Bowler of teh Year Awards at the USBC banquet.

Every year for the past two decades WNWO has presented the Bob Rehkopf Junior Bowler of Year award at the annual Greater Toledo USBC Youth Banquet and this year was no different.

In the past, former WNWO sports director Jim Tichy presented the honor, this year weekend sports anchor Tim McMahon represented the station.

The award is named after the late-Bob Rehkopf, who was the general manager of Imperial Lanes and helped bring the PBA to Toledo. Bob was alos a strong promoter of junior bowling in the Glass City.

This year's winners were Travis Kominek, who carried a 220 average. Travis was not present because he was pitching for the Start high school baseball team in the City League championship game.

For the girls it was a familiar name. With a 212 average, Rachael Albright took home the award for the fifth year consecutive year, the first person to ever accomplish that feat.