Saturday District Finals in hockey and girls basketball

Northview gathers for their District Champion photo.

It was a night filled with goals, jump shots, tears and cheers. And, of course, championships.

The Northview and St. John's hockey teams met for the third time this season at Tamo-Shanter, this time with the District title, and a trip to State, on the line.

The Wildcats built a 2-0 lead thanks to goals from Nick Laplante and Kooper Carter, the latter scoring the first goal of his career. St. John's would add one in the third, but that was all she wrote as Northview makes their second trip to State in three seasons.

"We believe we're the best public institution in the state, we take a lot of pride in that," said Northview head coach Mike Jones.

The Ladykats of Northview met Notre Dame in a Division I District Final at Perrysburg. ND senior Cat Wells had 17 as the Eagles won 54-43, despite 23 points from Northview senior Miriam Justinger.

"It feels so good to win, the first time District Champions...we got more to come so we've got to keep practicing hard," Wells said.

"Miriam and JJ [Jessing] and Skylary [Rose]...I can't ask for anymore than what they've given me for the last four years. It's just been phenomenal," said Northview head coach Jerry Sigler, referring to his seniors.

Notre Dame will play Perrysburg on Tuesday at Central Catholic after the Yellow Jackets blew out Mansfield Senior, 78-43 earlier in the day.

At Anthony Wayne, Liberty-Benton won a low scoring contest over Evergreen, 26-23, in the D-III final and the Rogers Rams continued their impressive season, knocking off Bellevue 43-35 in the D-II final at Clay.

"It's just the best feeling ever," said Rogers sophomore Sasha Dailey.

"This is what it's about in tournament play. I'm proud of the girls because they had to fight threw and they got the job done tonight," said Rogers head coach Lamar Smith.

Saturday also saw five local kids win state championships in Wrestling. In Division II, Chris Moore of Clyde was the 170 LB champ. The other four champions came in Division III. 138: Luke Kern, Delta, 152: Jordan Cowell, Archbold, 285: Mimmo Lytle, Swanton, 120: Cade Mansfield, Ayersville.

For a look at the rest of the tournament brackets for basketball visit