Lucas County Sheriff's Department holds yearly awards

Lucas County Sheriff's Office hosted their 2017 Officer Recognition Ceremony on Thursday evening (WNWO).

The Lucas County Sheriff's Office took the time to honor its own Thursday evening.

During the 2017 Officer Recognition Ceremony, they named the winners of awards such as the Outstanding Dispatcher, Officer of the Year, and the Leadership Award.

The sheriff's department thinks it's important to recognize the officers, and all who helped them this past year.

"Because the individuals in the sheriff's department deserve to be recognize. They do an outstanding job, day after day, and kind of get looked over. This is just a way to show that they're appreciated for doing their job," said Sgt. Robert Boggs.

The event also honored civilians who went out of their way to help the department, with a Life Saving Award.


Medal of Valor: Deputy Frank Reidy, Deputy Rob Sweeney, Sgt. Todd Shelton (Holland P.D.) and Officer John Growden (Holland P.D.)

Dispatcher Gold Star Award: Disp. Teena Baker, Disp. Pamela Holman, Disp. Alyson Andrejka and Disp. Kelly Tardich

Honor Guard Pin Recipients: Kenneth Arp, Brian Dreier, Karrie Szmanski and Russell Whitacre

Life Saving Award: Michael George, Jacob Lickert, Kristen Allen, Robert Kennedy, Laura Leady, Shamea Lewis and Jim Phillips

Outstanding Dispatcher 2017: Disp. Teena Baker

Officer of the Year 2017: Deputy Dan Gutierrez

Leadership Award 2017: Sgt. Kristin Matuszewski

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off